Travel Information/Blocked Countries

Before you travel within the U.S. or outside of the U.S. always contact us with one of these options:

  • Stop into a MEFCU Branch and complete a Visa Travel Notice form
  • Send a secure message through online banking
  • Go through Visa Online - Log into online banking, click on Visa Online, Account Services, Travel Center

Your card is welcome everywhere that accepts VISA debit/credit cards. Receive a cash advance with your card at financial institutions displaying the VISA logo.

The countries below are all blocked for VISA transactions (signature based for both credit and debit) and PIN-based and/or ATM transactions. This block includes traveling (for vacation or business) and Internet transactions. To enable transactions during your visit to one of these countries contact us at 507-535-1460 or 800-535-2129.

  • Angola
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia / Republic of Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Montenegro
  • Myanmar
  • North Korea
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan
  • Ukraine